Finally Found: Immersiva

Last week I had written about seeing Bryn Oh’s Anna’s Many Murders and I had made a promise to myself to check out her previous installation, Immersiva.  I was able to go earlier this week, quite by coincidence when Xan tp’d me there on one of our exploration evenings.  I didn’t do too much editing on the pictures because I wanted to show the pieces as the artist created them.

As you climb through this first tower, the first story of Daughter of Gears is revealed.  I don’t want to show too much because its really something you should experience for yourself.  Be careful as you climb, this is a health-damage sim and falling while making the ascent could be hazardous.

~Daughter of Gears~

After decending from the top of the tower, you can move on to the next area and follow the story of The Rabbicorn.  Each vignette has a portion of the tale which you get in a notecard by clicking on a paper somewhere in the scene.  Also there is a silver teleport which will take you to the next area.

From tesla coils
And a music box
Parts of a gramaphone
And fur from a fox

If you follow all the way through, you’ll see how the two stories correlate.  I was actually able to pick up on the themes and follow along, which is unusual for me.  I also now see how the pieces in this first installation relate to many in the second and I wish I had experienced Immersiva first.  I’ll definitely go back through Anna’s Many Murders again to enjoy it as it should be.

My journey through Immersiva left me wishing this was a real installation in a gallery so I could take my son through it as well.

